As you may already be aware, the Sunshine Coast Council has unexpectedly scheduled a Special Meeting for next Thursday 13th April, to consider in confidential session, and then apparently vote on, major amendments to the Planning Scheme 2014.

We would like to encourage you to attend the council meeting on Thursday 13th April (to be held at the Nambour Council Chambers at 1:00 pm) so we can make it absolutely clear to council the extent of our concern at its handling of these important issues.


We also encourage you to email the council expressing your concerns.

Mark.Jamieson@sunshinecoast.qld.gov.au
Rick.Baberowski@sunshinecoast.qld.gov.au
Tim.Dwyer@sunshinecoast.qld.gov.au
Peter.Cox@sunshinecoast.qld.gov.au
John.Connolly@sunshinecoast.qld.gov.au
Jenny.McKay@sunshinecoast.qld.gov.au
Christian.Dickson@sunshinecoast.qld.gov.au
Ted.Hungerford@sunshinecoast.qld.gov.au
Jason.Opray@sunshinecoast.qld.gov.au
Stephen.Robinson@sunshinecoast.qld.gov.au
Greg.Rogerson@sunshinecoast.qld.gov.au

WE ARE STRONGER TOGETHER


Here is an example of the letter, you are free to use it in full or in parts where appropriate.

“I wish to lodge my strong objection to the proposed “Twin Waters West” amendment to the Sunshine Coast Planning Scheme 2014.  This amendment includes the change in purpose of the Twin Waters West site from Rural to Emerging Community (urban), enabling the development of a subdivision on this site.

The current Planning Scheme 2014 appropriately states that “urban development within the Maroochy North Shore (MNS) local plan area is limited to land within the urban growth management boundary so as to …… avoid further urban development on heavily constrained land, particularly low lying and flood prone land, …. and does not support urban development on flood prone constrained land.”

The whole of the “Twin Waters West” site is flood prone, heavily constrained land. The flood storage capacity of this land helps protect the existing residential areas of Pacific Paradise, Mudjimba, Twin Waters and Maroochydore from flood events in the Maroochy River catchment.

Before making any decision on this change to the Planning Scheme, I strongly urge the Council to exercise its duty of care and seek independent professional advice from a major engineering consultant, to ensure that flood modelling takes into account the entire catchment of the Maroochy River, all recent, or proposed developments (e.g. the Airport Expansion Project), and climate change to provide flood predictions that are reliable, robust and beyond challenge.”


“ALONE WE ARE STRONG, TOGETHER WE ARE STRONGER”


 

Loud & clear objection to Twin Waters West before Council’s Special Meeting.

One thought on “Loud & clear objection to Twin Waters West before Council’s Special Meeting.

  • March 25, 2018 at 10:18 AM
    Permalink

    Please consider the effects of this development as l was on the flood committee after the floods in 1992-4 and the amount of rain and high tides. We had 820 mls in 3 days !!!! Twin Water was under water by 3meters!! Melbourne has that yearly! I would love to see this as a big wild life park and Botanical land mark for all the community to use. It could have beautiful lakes and bike tracks .If you allow development it will be a sea of house roofs and that’s MORE runoff of water with nowhere to go!,🌊🌊🌊🌊⛈⛈💦🌫🌪Also where are all the kangaroos going to go ! How ugly it will look from the motorway! Also have you thought about the congestion s of all those extra cars on the roads!!Another 2000/4000 or more on and at the little beach at Mudjimba ! No parking at the beaches!, Look at all the money needed to upgrade the SunshineCoast motor way! No one wants this massive infrastructure on the coast , ___so wants in it for the SunshineCoast Council???

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *